Jury 2019

After two hugely successful editions over the past two years, we are delighted to announce the third edition of the 2019 INDIA WINE AWARDS, a world-class wine competition that recognises, rewards and celebrates the best of the wines, Indian and international, available in India.


India Wine Awards, powered and chaired by Sonal Holland MW, is the country’s most authoritative wine competition, led by the country’s most qualified wine professionals. Since its inaugural year in 2017, India Wine Awards has established itself as the ultimate guide to ranking the best of Indian and international wines available in the country. India Wine Awards stands committed to the wine industry’s overall macro objective of bringing more consumers to wine and in strengthening India’s importance on the global wine map. The competition results offer Indian consumers, a credible guide to purchasing wine and winning brands an enviable advantage in the marketplace. Through these awards, we also wish to recognise the hard work and passion that goes behind creating and promoting a wine that consumers enjoy.


Judging Panel—Chaired by Sonal Holland MW

Sonal Holland MW, Chairperson

Sanjay Sethi


CEO & Managing Director, Chalet Hotels. Ltd, which owns and operates the Marriott Group of Hotels in India

Alok Chandra


Wine consultant, Gryphon Brands Inc; wine columnist for Business Standard.

Parveen Chander


Area Director – West India (Taj Group of Hotels) and General Manager for Taj Lands End, Mumbai

Subhash Arora


Wine Writer, Indian Wine Academy

Dietmar Kielnhofer


General Manager, JW Marriott Mumbai Sahar & an oenophile.

Rahul Akerkar


Celebrity chef, owner of the newly opened – Qualia restaurant.

Ashish Dev Kapur


Restauranteur & Co-owner at Wine Rack Mumbai, Whiskey Samba and The Wine Company in New Delhi.

Taljinder Singh


Senior Vice President – SeleQtions & South Mumbai Hotels & General Manager, The Taj Mahal Palace Mumbai

Abhisek Basu


Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage, The Leela Mumbai

Zubin Sogadwala


General Manager, ITC Maratha

Namrata Zakaria


Writer and Columnist, Mumbai Mirror

Zorawar Kalra


Founder & Managing Director, Massive Restaurants Pvt. Ltd. which comprises of Masala Library by Jiggs Kalra, Farzi Café, Made in Punjab, Pa Pa Ya, MasalaBar and Kode.

Smitha Menon


Associate Editor at Condé Nast Traveller

Abhas Saxena


Assistant Director Food and Beverage, The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai.

Craig Wedge


Managing Director – Reserve Wines Pvt Ltd and International Wine Consultant

Suneeta Kanga


Corporate Grooming, Fine Dining & Wine appreciation.

Pratik Angre


Head Sommelier, The Table Mumbai

Harish Acharekar


Trade Ambassador – Bacardi India Portfolio | WSET Level 3 Award in Wines Certified

Bhisham Mansukhani


Wine Consultant | Wine and Food writer

Lalit Rane


Head Sommelier & Restaurant Manager, St. Regis Mumbai

Ruma Singh


A prolific wine writer and blogger at Between the Vines. Currently pursuing WSET level 4 Diploma

Lavina Kharkwal


Freelance Writer – Wine Food and Travel
Blogger at High On Wines



I believe India Wine Awards, they are now in their second year, are the best thing to have happened to the Industry. Sonal Holland MW must be complimented and her team must also be complimented for the amount of work they put in to make India Wine Awards which cannot be questioned, even by its worst critic.


Sourish Bhattacharya –
Food Writer; Author at IndianRestaurantSpy.com and Co-Founder of the Tasting India Symposium